Welcome to UNI Teacher Education


Content Standards

Iowa Core

Common Core


Teaching Standards

Iowa Teaching Standards


Teacher Preparation Standards

InTASC [Interstate New Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium]  are principles for preparing beginning teachers. They reflect knowledge, performance, and dispositions needed to successfully teach today’s P - 12 students. Included are:

  1. Learner Development
  2. Learning Differences
  3. Learning Environments
  4. Content Knowledge
  5. Application of Content
  6. Assessment
  7. Plan for Instruction
  8. Instructional Strategies;
  9. Professional Learning and Ethical Practice
  10. Leadership and Collaboration