Required Trainings for the UNI Teacher Education Program
High Risk Behaviors and Substance Abuse - The UNI Teacher Education Program offers this training each semester to its students. This training is offered on campus in a classroom setting. The High Risk Behaviors and Substance Abuse training is an initial licensure requirement, so each student needs to complete it before UNI can recommend a student for license. The training will be good for 5 years.
You must complete this training before you student teach. All students who have declared a teacher education major have access to this training on eLearning, under the heading "Teacher Education Trainings". The training includes handouts, a 2.5 hour video, and an assessment that must be successfully completed before you will be issued a "Certificate of Completion". The Office of Teacher Education issues these certificates on a monthly (not daily) basis, so plan accordingly.
- It is recommended you complete this during Level 2
OSHA - The UNI Teacher Education Program asks all teaching majors to complete this training one time before they begin their first field experience at UNI. The UNI Athletic Training Program asks their students to complete this training every year. OSHA training is NOT a licensure requirement, it is a field experience requirement. This training will be good for 5 years. Once students graduate and are employed by an Iowa school district, they will be required to complete OSHA training every year.
- It is recommended you complete this during Level 1
Mandatory Reporter of Child Abuse and Dependent Adult Abuse Training. Since passage of a law in 2001, licensing boards require a person who regularly examines, attends, counsels, or treats dependent adults or children in Iowa to accurately document compliance with training requirements on abuse education and/or dependent adult abuse, upon issuance of licensure.
In accordance with the Iowa Board of Educational Examiners’ requirements for Mandatory Reporter of Child Abuse and Dependent Adult Abuse, all candidates in the UNI Teacher Education Program must successfully complete the online training provided by the Iowa Department of Human Services (DHS). The following provides specific information to help students prepare for this training:
- The trainings must be completed prior to starting the Level II field experience
- The trainings are online and free
- The trainings are two hours each for both child abuse and dependent adult abuse.
- The trainings are valid for three years.
- Upon finishing the trainings, DHS will issue a completion certificate.
Mandatory Reporter of Child Abuse training completed prior to July 1, 2019 will still be valid for five years from the date of completion.
To access the Iowa Department of Human Services (DHS) Training for Mandatory Reporter of Child Abuse and Dependent Adult Abuse please following this link:
When candidates are initially creating a “New Account” to take the trainings, please use “University of Northern Iowa” as the Agency or Employer, “UNI Teacher Education” as the Supervisor’s Name and “email@example.com" as the Supervisor’s email.
As you enter the main page for the Iowa DHS Training, please scroll down to “Training Categories”. Here you will need to complete the “DS 169 Child Abuse Mandatory Reporter Training” and the “DS 168 Dependent Adult Abuse Mandatory Reporter Training”. You can click on either of these buttons to start the training for that specific area.
Please note: You must watch 100% of each training video to receive credit and move to the next video module. You must also complete the evaluation in order to receive the certificate.
Upon successfully completing both of the trainings, please:
- Send an email to the UNI Office of Teacher Education (firstname.lastname@example.org) and attach the “Certificate of Completion for the Mandatory Reporter of Child Abuse” and the “Certificate of Completion for the Mandatory Reporter of Dependent Adult Abuse” so these can be recorded into the UNITED system.
- In the Subject Line please write “Mandatory Reporter of Child Abuse Training Certificate”.
- In the textbox please list your full name and your UNI student ID number.
If you have any questions, please feel free to email the Office of Teacher Education at email@example.com.
- It is recommended you complete this prior to your Level II field experience.
Required Certificates for the UNI Teacher Education Program
SING Background Check- The UNI Teacher Education Program requires MOST students to complete this background check one time during their program of study. The SING Background Check needs be completed before students begin their first field experience at UNI. The exception is Early Childhood Majors who must complete a SING Background Check every two years.
FBI background check - Only for Early Childhood Education Majors. This additional background check is required by the Iowa Department of Human Services (DHS). This background check is valid for four (4) years. No other majors need to complete this special background check.
After your certificates have been completed, you can print out copies of the documentation when you need them from MyUNIverse:
Sign in: My UNIverse
Go to: My Page
Find: Teacher Education
Click on: Certificate Viewer
The Certificate Viewer is the location to find the certificates that are *completed at UNI:
1) SING Background Check
2) OSHA Bloodborne Pathogens Training
3) High Risk Behaviors and Substance Abuse Training
4) Mandatory Reporter of Child Abuse Training
*If a student completed a background check or training at another location other than UNI, we are unable to place this information on Certificate Viewer.
Please contact the Office of Teacher Education if you have questions related to background checks or trainings completed at another location other than UNI.